English-Dutch Agreement 1824

The Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824 officially demarcated two territories: Malaya, ruled by the United Kingdom, and Dutch East India, ruled by the Netherlands. The states of Malaya are Malaysia and Singapore, and the Dutch-Indian state that succeeds it is Indonesia. The line that separated the spheres of influence between the British and the Dutch eventually became the border between Indonesia and Malaysia (a small segment became the border between Indonesia and Singapore). Subsequent colonial influence also concerned the Malay language, often spoken as a regional language between these islands and subdivided into Malay and Indonesian variants. The treaty was ratified by Great Britain on 30 April 1824 and by the Netherlands on 2 June 1824. Ratifications were exchanged in London on 8 June 1824. Negotiations between Canning and Fagel began on July 20, 1820. The Dutch persevered in the British task of Singapore. In fact, Canning was unsure of the exact circumstances in which Singapore was acquired and, initially, only undisputed subjects such as free navigation rights and the elimination of piracy were agreed. Discussions on this subject were suspended on 5 August 1820 and did not resume until 1823, when the commercial value of Singapore was recognized by the British. Negotiations resumed on December 15, 1823, and the debate focused on creating clear spheres of influence in the region.

The Dutch, who understood that Singapore`s growth could not be curbed, insisted that they trade their claims north of the Strait of Malacca and their Indian colonies in exchange for confirmation of their claims south of the strait, including the British colony of Bencoolen. The final contract was signed on 23 March 1824 by Fagel and Canning. Done at London, this 17th of March, the year of our Lord 1824. Disputes arising from the treaty were the subject of the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824. It was clearly established that the British demanded that jurisdiction be delegated/ceded/lent by the Malay rulers in order for Her Majesty to set the terms for a future federation of the Malay states, and that this provision made it clear that the British would have no competence to legislate or act on behalf of the Malay rulers without the agreement of the Malay rulers. From a legal point of view, it is fair to conclude that the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824 and other contracts concluded by the British or the Dutch without the agreement and understanding of the Malay rulers in their respective jurisdictions with other parties were not valid. [1] The Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1824, also known as the London Contract, was a contract signed in London on 17 March 1824 between the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. The contract was to resolve disputes arising from the performance of the Anglo-Dutch Treaty of 1814. For the Dutch, it was signed by Hendrik Fagel and Anton Reinhard Falck and for Britain by George Canning and Charles Williams-Wynn. .

. .

Comments are closed.